* Front & back cover images are for illustration purposes only and the price of book is sold separately.
  • Original Book Title: THE WOMAN BEFORE ME
  • Availability : Available
  • ISBN : 9788184984651
  • Edition : 1
  • Weight : 0.00 gms
  • Pages : 288
  • Language : ENGLISH
  • Category : FICTION
  • Sub Category :
  • Discount : Individual(Login to get best discount offers.)
Quantity
They came for me, just like I knew they would. Luke had been dead for just three days. Rose Wilks’ life is shattered when her newborn baby Joel is admitted to intensive care. Emma Hatcher has all that Rose lacks. Beauty. A loving husband. A healthy son. Until Tragedy strikes and Rose is the only suspect. Now, having spent nearly five years behind bars, Rose is just weeks away from freedom. Her probation officer Cate must decide whether Rose is remorseful for Luke’s death, or whether she remains a threat to society. As Cate is drawn in, she begins to doubt her own judgement. Where is the line between love and obsession, can justice be served and, if so… by what means? Praise: “ An enthralling psychological thriller – perfect for fans of Sophie Hannah” Bestselling author Sam Mills ‘Dark, disturbing and authentic’ CWA judging panel
N/A
Video not available
Keywords
Customer Reviews
  • Rating StarNEWSPAPER REVIEW

    The author has brought out the obsessive behavior of a troubled person very well through the story. The story is set in a prison background. The prisoner is a woman whose compulsive behavior and grief of losing a child and the ensuing trauma has beendescribed. The story shifts between present and past to weave the incidents together. The characters have been well personified. The author’s experience as a Probation Officer in different prisons gives an insight into the working of the minds of such troubled people. Rose is a person with a difficult childhood and low self esteem. She kills her son in order to win her husband’s love and stalks the woman with whom her husband is having an affair. She makes friends with that woman and becomes a babysitter for the other woman’s baby son. The story keeps shifting from past to present and narrates different incidents that Rose builds up in order to win the trust of the other woman. Her abnormal behavior and obsession with the baby is well brought out. The book manages to bring the chilling effect and perverted feelings it has tried to depict. It is very difficult to say why such people commit offences to shield someone they love and are prepared to take the blame. The real culprit remains a mystery till the end. - Pratibha Athalye ...Read more

Write Your Own Review
  • Default typing language is Marathi. To type in English press Ctrl+G key combination
Submit Review

Related Books

People Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Latest Reviews

ANANDTARANG
ANANDTARANG by GRECHEN RUBIN Rating Star
DAINIK LOKMAT 13-10-2019

परिवर्तनाचे बारा महिने... माणसाला मिळालेल्या आयुष्याला प्रवाहीपणाचे वरदान लाभले आहे. परंतु, कधी कधी माणूस एखाद्या चक्रव्यूहात अडकत जातो. एव्हाना त्याच्या आयुष्यात आनंद, समाधान, सुख, शांतता हे शब्द त्याला निरर्थक वाटू लागतात. ग्रेचेन रुबिनला पण आयुष्ाच्या एका विशिष्ट टप्प्यावर अनपेक्षितपणे वेळेचे महत्त्व अधोरेखित होते आणि तेथून पुढे सुरू होतो, त्याच्या आनंदाचा नवा शोध. त्याच परिवर्तनाच्या नांदीला हाताशी ती एक वर्ष हॅपीनेस प्रोजेक्टला वाहून घेते. आनंदी कसे व्हावे, याविषयी उपजत आलेले शहाणपण, युगायुगाचे संशोधन आणि माहिती यांच्या आधारे तंत्रशुद्ध शिक्षण घेते. हा तिचा बारा महिन्यांचा प्रवास म्हणजे नेमके काय आहे, त्यात तिने कोणकोणते प्रयोग केले त्याची रोचक कहाणी म्हणजे आनंदतरंग हे पुस्तक. ...Read more

EKA LALASENE
EKA LALASENE by MANJUL BAJAJ Rating Star
DAINIK LOKSATTA (LOKRANG) 13-10-2019

मानवी मनोव्यापारांचे भेदक चित्रण... ‘एका लालसेने’ हा मंजुल बजाज या लेखिकेच्या इंग्रजी कथासंग्रहाचा डॉ. शुचिता नांदापूरकर-फडके यांनी मराठीत केलेला अनुवाद आहे. समकालीन भारतीय लेखक-लेखिका इंग्रजी भाषेत कोणत्या प्रकारचे साहित्य लिहितात, त्यांच्या आस्थेच विषय काय आहेत... हे समजून घेण्यासाठी एक नमुना म्हणून हा अनुवादित कथासंग्रह महत्त्वाचा आहे. बजाज यांनी या कथासंग्रहात भारतातल्या विविध राज्यांतील, गाव-खेड्यांतील, शहरांतील लोकांचे जीवन, त्यांच्या मनोव्यापाराचे विविध पदर यातील कथांमधून उलगडून दाखवले आहेत. कथांमधील पात्रांचे सशक्त व्यक्तिचित्रण आणि कोणत्याही सामाजिक संकेतांचा दबाव न घेता थेटपणे व्यक्त होणे हे बजाज यांच्या लेखनाचे, कथांचे वैशिष्ट्य आहे. स्वार्थलोलुपता, लालसा, माणसांचे कामजीवनासंबंधीचे विचार, इच्छा-आकांक्षांची तृप्तता न झाल्यास माणसांना येणारी विफलता असे सारे काही त्यांच्या कथांमध्ये कोणताही आडपडदा न ठेवता चितारलेले आहे. आपल्याकडे ज्या प्रकारची समाजरचना आहे. त्यात स्त्रीच्या सर्वच प्रकारच्या इच्छा-आकांक्षांना दुय्यम लेखले जाते, त्यातूनही एखादीनं आपल्याला हवे तसे जीवन जगण्याचा प्रयत्न केला तर अशा स्त्रीला नैतिकतेच्या कठोर चौकटीतून पाहिले जाते. साहित्यातही अशा सामाजिक परिस्थितीचेच तर प्रतिबिंब उमटते... मात्र बजाज यांच्या कथांमधील नायिका अशा रूढ वाटेने चालण्याचेच नाकारतात. या नायिकांना आत्मभान आहे. स्वत:च्या आनंदासाठी काही करण्यातून त्यांना अपराधगंड येत नाही, हेच या कथांचे बलस्थान आहे. याशिवायही भवतालत सतत घडत असणाऱ्या व्यावहारिक, राजकीय, आर्थिक बदलांचे तीव्र भान लेखिकेला आहे. या बदलांकडे ती संवेदनशीलतेने आणि अनेक कोनांमधून पाहते. या साऱ्याचा प्रत्यय या कथासंग्रहातील कथा वाचताना येत राहतो. ...Read more